Baking Soda for Dental Stains and a Facial Scrub

Posted: June 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

As A Stain Remover

Baking soda is the miracle of miracles.  Besides being great at cleaning and solving most all of your life’s problems, it is great for immediately removing any dental stains you may have.  Simply pour a small amount into your palm and then dip your wet toothbrush into it and brush.  I wish I took some before and after photos because after only one brushing my teeth went from having minor funky stains to being a pretty pretty clear white.  I’m very glad that I didn’t go straight into using whitening strips before I tried this cheaper method.  Baking soda has the abrasive quality that cleans teeth really well, but leaves my teeth feeling very very clean, without any residue.  It freshens breath as well.  As stated by the comments, you shouldn’t use this treatment regularly as it will wear down your enamel.  It should be used for occasional stains as the most effective quick fix!

As a Facial Scrub

I personally don’t really like using the sugar scrubs sold at most body shops because the crystals seem to be too coarse and rough on the skin.  Instead, I use a little baking soda mixed with Cetaphil’s Gentle Cleanser (which is more buttery than my normal cleanser) when I want a fine exfoliation.  It leaves my skin soft and lightly buffed.

Comments
  1. Catherine says:

    So, not to be a Debbie Downer or anything, but according to most dentists, using baking soda on your teeth regularly is actually really bad and causes enamel wear since it’s so abrasive ….. aaaaaaand since it is a base, regular use for exfoliation can ruin your skin’s acid mantle as well. Just FYI. =)

    I do think it’s the most freaking awesome thing for scouring countertops and sinks and bathtubs though. :D

    • mytigerlily says:

      Thanks for the tips :) I wasn’t planning on using it everyday, it’s just so nice that my teeth can finally be instantly fixed for a very small price!

  2. LOLL I guessed everything you were going to say before I even saw your comment Catherine.
    Your teeth did look really white and sparkly today, but you might want to look into the effects of that. Or you might end up having to take an hour to finish your mochi ice cream like mz drallimer

    • mytigerlily says:

      It really shouldn’t be too bad. Sensitivity and damage will just come from over use. Although I guess it could get rather addicting. It’s very good for an instant type of fix to my teeth. And it cleans my retainer really well. lol

  3. ilyana says:

    Awww I just read Catherine’s comment but it’s okay, it’s still worthy of its place in my kitchen lol!

Leave a Reply

