Tutorial: Bleeding Heart

Posted: September 12, 2010 in Dramatic, Tutorials

This look was inspired by the song “Twisted” by the New Kids On The Block.  Here are the lyrics that I drew from:

You wanna feel, I let you feel
Can’t help what love could do to you

You know it cuts, scars, bruises his heart – So what?
You like it, you like all the screws, tattoos
Cool – That I can do.
You’re telling me You’re telling me

You’re a little bit twisted
Can feel your heart, you want me to twist it.
A little bit twisted,
Where does it hurt?  Tell me where to kiss it.

I first slapped this design down on paper late at night and waited for the following morning to formulate my plan of attack.  This look was significantly more premeditated than any of my previous looks, which helped a lot (I didn’t just spring into delirious sleepwalk stealth makeup like usual).  Through this experience I learned the process of getting my ideas down on paper and then later mulling over what will and will not work with my actual face.  For example, I could not for the life of me fit a band-aid into the design.  Also, notice how I had to adjust the flower to sit lower on my cheek instead of my temple.

So here we have the drawing steps.  Again, it’s important to have a lot of Q-tips on hand for correcting your initial drawing until you have something you’re relatively satisfied with.  I started with the eyeliner for the “ribbon” that is supposed to be wrapped around the heart.  I wanted the ribbons on top and on bottom to connect into one when I closed my eyes, the illusion being that the ribbon is “squeezing” the heart when I blink.  Next I dropped in the basic heart outline, making sure that the edges near the ribbon were puckering in to show the ribbon’s relationship to the heart.  For the finishing touches, I cut out some of the heart to damage it further, added some stitches, nails, dripping blood tears,  and a flower.

I used the Neutrogena Moistureshine Cherry Lipstick and a lip brush for the basic pinkish red you see on the heart.  Next I went in with some darker maroon-type reds to add depth to the shape.  I added blue to define my eyes and add some more interest to my heart, making it look “bruised.”  Taking a champagne colored liquid liner, I lined the outer border of the “ribbon”.  Lastly, I filled in the flower and nails with silver.

Comments
  1. oh my god
    *is speechless*
    *regains speech*
    you are fucking amazing.

  2. Cacau says:

    Freaking amazing! Man, I wish I had your skills on artistic make-up! :D I can only do lame stuff!

  3. Mika Chan says:

    Omg this is so pretty!!! I wish I could draw :(

  4. joyce says:

    you are my freaking idol.

  5. Rachel says:

    you’re amazing!!! oh and hey love the Lady Gaga bow :)

  6. tezza says:

    wow, that looks is just SO gorgeous
    you’re so talented ! :)
    seriously, all i can say is WOW

  7. Sherri says:

    Amazing you’re so talented :)

  8. Jonna says:

    Wow… You’re so talented! x

  9. Olive says:

    i absolutely love this! it looks so graphic!

  10. Elba says:

    YOU INSPIRE ME!!! I love all your looks!

  11. Anh says:

    You’re insane. I frigging love your style. I wish u can do this on me. So pretty. YOURe so pretty!

  12. Marin says:

    Wha! I do sketches before I try out some EOTDs but nothing like this. You are quickly becoming super-major inspiration. Legit incredible! I wanna try out some more graphic looks now

    • mytigerlily says:

      Thank you Marin =) Please do and let me know!! I always feel like drawing it out really helps me to not go off in some funky direction that I wasn’t initially intending (which is sometimes good, but often not what I want, you know XD) Anyways, thank you for your meaningful words! <3

  13. Helena says:

    Oh wow! This look is amazing! :)

  14. Sue says:

    I just got a tip about yr blog, and it’s totally amazing! I luv the idea of recipes for doing these great make-up pieces. We should ALL wear this stuff everywhere – life would be so much more interesting!

  15. […] Song Inspired Sunday Week 1 Twisted by New Kids on The Block I'm sorry if this series just becomes a lame lamish lame. I know with song lyrics it can get that way, I should have foreseen that side effect.  OH WELL. You wanna feel, I let you feel, Come over here Can't help what love could do to you You know it cuts, scars, bruises his heart So what? You like it, you like all the screws, tattoos, … Read More […]

  16. Toks says:

    This is really amazing!! What an artist you are :D

  17. Cat says:

    This looks soooo rad! <3 Great concept, amazing job!

Leave a Reply

