Swatch: L’Oreal HIP Duos in Guilded, Showy, and Scupted

Posted: December 5, 2010 in Reviews and Swatches

Guilded / Showy / Sculpted

The gold, blue, and pink of these duos are shadows that I will go back to again and again.  They were some of the first items of makeup I’ve ever bought, and I still love them.  So cheap (around six dollars), and smooth as buttah.  While I love all of the shimmery bright shades presented in these duos, the darker sides leave something to be desired.  They are not nearly as pigmented or soft as the other sides and I tend to not really use them at all.  The one I’ve used the most would have to be the plummy black with pink shimmer from the Sculpted duo, but other than that I can’t say much for those shadows. A good rule of thumb for HIP Duos is that the shimmery and metallic shades will nearly always be amazing and the matte / darker shades will always disappoint you.  Still, I would say that it is TOTALLY worth it to buy them even if it’s just for one side.

Breakdown:

Guilded: True metallic gold.  I don’t use this one as much nowadays because I find that gold is actually difficult for me to pair with other eye shadows.  Why?  Beats me..  If  you love golds, however, this one has served me well.

Showy: This one is really interesting because it sometimes ends up looking very aqua on the lid.  Anyhow, I love it and it looks especially great on top of a pencil for the waterline.  Note that the other side is showing up really bright and royal and awesome in the first photo, but this is inaccurate.  It’s actually more of a mid dark blue that shows up on the skin as a lame navy.  The other colors look just like the photo though, strange…

Sculpted: Amazing pink.  I usually don’t feel comfortable at all wearing pinks, but this one is kind of brown leaning and blends really well on the top edge of a smoky eye.  Gosh it is amazing.

Comments
  1. valerie says:

    hehe! so i was watching a project runway episode and i think they had to make outfits using the colors of these eyeshadows or something like that! XD

  2. ahhh man I love golds. I don’t even have time to wear eyeshadow these days though. Maybe I should get up really early tomorrow and do something with eyeshadow~~~nahh. Valerie, I love your comments…

  3. Kassia says:

    I agree! I always use the shimmery colors in those duos instead of the matte color.

  4. […] L’oreal HIP Showy Duo over the liner and extended outwards […]

  5. […] of Sugarpill’s Magentric loose eyeshadow and blended it into the rest using the pink from my HIP Sculpted Duo.  I added a REALLY frosty highlight blended it down in a C shape all the way into my cheekbone […]

Leave a Reply

