Review: All Sugarpill Pressed Eyeshadows

Posted: January 30, 2011 in Looks, Reviews and Swatches

You have no idea how long I have been wanting to place a Sugarpill order.  Let’s just say forever.  I finally did it and spent a good $90 dollars of Birthday-Christmas money on all of their pressed eye shadows.  Best value ever – definitely one of the proudest purchases of my young life.

I just played with them for the first time today and I was like:

I’m going to show ya’all some swatches and then hopefully convert you as well.
Begin!

No Flash

Flash

All swatches were applied on the back of my hand with a brush over Urban Decay Primer Potion.  They seriously didn’t budge.  Even after I washed my hands I was like AH! BLESS MY SOUL! They are still there~ O_O

Sweetheart Palette ($34):
At first, I wasn’t sure that I would be all into these colors based on
the promo pictures… but holy G I’m in love.  If I had to choose one of the two
palettes, it would be this one.  Surprisingly enough.

1: DOLLIPOP – Amazing pink!  I never wear pinks near my eyes but I decided that if I was going to start, this was probably my best bet.  True matte pink.  Blends well into Poison Plum especially. WARNING: Dollipop stains!

2: MIDORI – Another unexpected love.  I was truly not into this color when looking at the swatches and promos but seeing it applied showed me why it deserved to be included in this collection.  It has a satin texture and reminds me of Jasmine from Aladdin.

3: AFTERPARTY – My favorite out of all of them.  If you get one, get this one.  For the longest time I held the impression that Afterparty would have a “creamy” finish.  On the contrary, it’s extremely vibrant!  It has a lush and beautiful shimmer finish.  WOW.

4: TAKO – It’s a good white and doesn’t fade into my skin tone.  I can still, however blend it out into a nice highlight.

Burning Heart Palette ($34):
This is the one I’ve really been wanting for a long time.  I haven’t
experimented with the colors yet, but swatched they are
really gorgeous and look just like the do in the pan.

1: BUTTERCUPCAKE – Finally I can have a yellow in my collection.  A real yellow.  *insanity giggles*

2: FLAMEPOINT – Same as above.  They blend together really well.

3: LOVE+ – Has this incredible sheen on it.  The finish looks less “powdery” matte and more… like dull leather.  I don’t know how else to describe it, it’s awesome.

4: POISON PLUM – I was most looking forward to having this in my collection out of all of the shadows.  What can I say?  It blends well into most of the other colors (harmony wise).  Texture wise – it blends adequately well.

(Not Pictured) BULLETPROOF – It’s a dense and dark matte black.  I use it every day.

OTHER NOTES:

  • I’m so happy that Sugarpill offers PRESSED SHADOWS!  To be honest, most of the time I can’t deal with loose eyeshadow.
  • The packaging is incredibly fun, beautifully designed, and high quality.
  • Sugarpill’s website is really well organized, professional, and easy to navigate.  Oh yeah, and it’s visually stunning.
  • I like how Amy has concentrated on offering a limited selection of colors that are ALL good.  It frustrates me when I have to beat myself up over which colors to choose because a brand’s choices are SO vast and their shadows are hit or miss.  In other words, I think that Sugarpill’s colors are all high quality and well thought out.
  • Amy, the founder, is really sweet!  (and also basically my idol) lol :] She handwrites thank you on every order form and included a free sticker and 2 small samples of the Chromalust loose pigment!
  • The value is incredible.  They cost more than drugstore makeup but the shadows are going to last for a very long time and like I said, everything is top-notch quality.  I read some other reviews where they mentioned that one possible negative was that they might be “too bright” for some people.  Very funny.
  • My EOTD below: In order I used UDPP, Pixie Epoxy, Afterparty, Midori, Poison Plum, and Dollipop

I’m sure you already know that you are going to be seeing a lot more Sugarpill on me in the future.

xoxo
Tomi

Comments
  1. HAHAHHAHA I love those animated pictures. I could look at them all day long.
    You should’ve done a swatch of that shimmery royal blue pigment. That one was gorgeous!
    I love the FOTD :D You’re a pretty girl heh heh

    • mytigerlily says:

      I think I will be… sometime in the future. I couldn’t get the pictures right this time though XD I’m thinking it will be better to show how they show up on an eye. ehheh.. that eye being… my eye…

  2. joyce says:

    my god im in love

  3. Ooooh la la! You look stunning. I literally NEVER wear colors like this, so they’re not for me, but seeing them on you makes me VERY VERY HAPPY! :D

    • mytigerlily says:

      Aww!! shucks… :) It’s true though they’re not for everyone ;)

    • mytigerlily says:

      On second thought… They do look pretty scary when they are all together like this, but individually and paired with other more neutral colors they could work for looks that aren’t crazy like this. Especially if you’re looking for a good matte white or black, this is a sure bet. And Midori/Poison Plum are also potentially tame yet pretty :)

  4. Catherine says:

    Wow, those are gorgeous!!

  5. I LOVE the EOTD you did! It’s beautiful :)

  6. ally says:

    so THIS was what you used to create the beautiful look today :)

  7. joyce says:

    tomi
    i am officially
    obsessed
    after i saw you today
    holy shit mother f***** i freaking love these

  8. Sarah says:

    OMG you’re really cute :D Hahaha, I love Sugarpill :)

  9. Minou says:

    I’m kicking myself in the butt SO HARD for not having taken part in her Black Friday sale!! Who knows when she will have another sale that good!! Also LOVE the look you did with them!

    • mytigerlily says:

      Thanks Minou :) I actually didn’t know about the Black Friday sale! Too bad.. I bought a lot of stuff xD would have helped!! hahaha Thanks! (You know, Einstein moment when I figured out that colors look really good when you apply them in rainbow order) DOH XD

  10. adiaself says:

    Amazing color from Sugarpill, I love your makeup look too :)

  11. Tina says:

    I absolutely LOVE the color combo in this one. Gorgeous!!

  12. […] Um. Not much else… obviously you need to have a basic knowledge of how to use loose eye shadows, but that’s the only reservation I would have if I was a beginner looking to choose something from Sugarpill.  If you’re terrible at using loose, I would FOR SURE look at their pressed eye shadow palettes, which I have reviewed and swatched HERE. […]

  13. […] With a fluffy brush I applied Sugarpill’s Midori eyeshadow all over the lid and blended it out to a soft […]

  14. Kat says:

    I love it! How beautiful! And your whole site makes me ROFL for realsies!

  15. […] hosting a giveaway!  The [1] winner of this giveaway will be sent 1 Sugarpill pressed eyeshadow in Afterparty and 1 Sleek Bad Girl I-Divine Palette (click the links for my swatches and review).  As some of […]

  16. […] EyelidsLook: Neutral HolidayLook: AVATAR [Halloween Costume] Review: Sleek I-Divine Bad Girl PaletteReview: All Sugarpill Pressed EyeshadowsLook: New Year's NikkieTutorials Contest EntryTutorial: Sweeney Todd Inspired […]

Leave a Reply

