Review: Harajuku Hunnies

Posted: March 7, 2011 in Reviews and Swatches

I first heard about Harajuku Hunnies through A Brilliant Brunette‘s blog.  Jacqueline absolutely GUSHED about the Harajuku Hunnies “Boy’s Day Quadriset,” stating that they were officially her “favorite blues ever.”  Going off that and her swatches, I decided to give them a try.  I had been searching for a good pressed royal blue for quite a while and thought that the one on the lower right corner would perhaps be the answer to my prayers.  The price seemed fair enough, so I waited anxiously for my quadriset to ship in.

My disappointment upon seeing the pigmentation of the shadows was only followed by a bit more disappointment, sadly.

me trying my best to give these a fair swatch

Overall, the quad is NOT BAD.  I am particularly impressed with the lightest blue on the far right, which can be built up to a very bright and creamy lid color.  The greener leaning mid blue on the far left is also pretty good.  The one I had seriously high hopes for is sub par, and the darkest shade is downright UNUSABLE.  I can hardly scrape any pigment from that section, even when using my finger.

The finish on these is pretty unique – they are all mattes with sparkles throughout.  However, I have found that after adequate blending, most of the sparkle ends up on my face or in the air.  It’s kind of a give or take because the sparkles stay better with Pixie Epoxy and yet PE is NOT meant to be used with matte eye shadows.  Accordingly, when I did apply my eyeshadow with PE, blending became more difficult.  I’m kind of at a loss as to what to do, as UDPP alone isn’t gonna cut it.

Anyways, on to the next off-putting thing.  I first gathered the suspicion that these weren’t entirely original to Harajuku Hunnies upon just seeing the cheap sticker smacked unevenly on the top of the quad.   When I saw the exact same products featured on a YouTuber’s channel as “paint wheels” from Bitch Slap Cosmetics, I wasn’t exactly surprised.  I was pretty much just kind of let down because I mean, you pay to support smaller companies that apparently are born out of a “passion for beauty and art…” and all that happy good stuff, and really most of the products are resales of pretty generic products from LadyBurd (“not been approved for area of the eye”!? WTF!? I don’t even..)

A little more sniffing on my part and I find Anastasia’s lowdown on HH.  She’s a boss so she can basically thoroughly tell you everything else that’s lame about the ordering experience.

Rating: Lame
Would Not Buy Again

Sigh.

Till Next Time,
Tomi

p.s. I tried to search their website before writing this review, but apparently the domain name has expired.  I’m confused.

Comments
  1. ally says:

    I’m sorry Tomi………
    I hate it when products are a total let down

  2. Marin says:

    Well that’s ick :( If I find any super royal blues I’ll let you know!

  3. aw dang, that’s too bad. I think the blues on the ends are actually quite pretty, though. You should try pressing Royal Sugar sometime, maybe not all of it, but it could solve your problems!

  4. Galen says:

    If you’re still trying to make these useable, you could try applying the colours wet??

    • mytigerlily says:

      They’re mattes, so I’m not sure how that would work XP Well the two blues on either side are actually quite nice any who. Just gotta be careful with the sparkle going everywhere :)

  5. Arien says:

    Hello,

    I end up here tonight, just passing by, and saw this entry. I spent a lot of time too looking for really pigmented dark blue eyeshadows, the tone never shows up clearly on my lids. Finally I discovered the best blue eyeshadows ever are those from Make Up forever, give them a try if you have the chance, they won’t let you down. Also, the Aquacream creamy eyeshodws in blue are amazing.

    By the way, I’ve seen pretty inspiring looks here, congratulations. I hope I will discover more ;) (and I’m sorry if my english is confusing, not my first language)

Leave a Reply

