Tutorial: BoA Inspired

Posted: June 2, 2011 in Tutorials, Wearable

In this tutorial, I’m replicating the look that BoA wore at the SM Town press conference in Los Angeles.  It’s super smokey and pretty and there’s not a lot of pressure to be good at blending!

1. Mark off a little hash where you intend to place the turquoise wing area.  Make sure that the top of the hash is straight and the bottom curves up from the lower lash line.  I just used a Sephora eye pencil.

2. Cover this part with tape so that we can get all dirty dark with the black and brown eyeshadow.  Add a sticky dark base.  I applied a small amount of NYX’s dark brown Jumbo Pencil and sheered it out with a small lip brush.

3. Add a rounded wash of brown shimmer eyeshadow.  I used the brown from L’Oreal’s HIP duo in Forgiving and then topped that with Fyrinnae’s Newcastle for a little more sparkle / warmth / interest.

4. Starting at the outer corner blend in Sugarpill’s Bulletproof, or any other matte black eyeshadow.  How far?  I trust your judgement.

After that, you kind of just add the embellishments.  I removed the tape and topped the pencil liner with a blue eyeshadow from my HIP Duo in Showy.  Then I went over that with some blue iridescent glitter liner from Urban Decay.  Line your lower lashline to your hearts content and meld it with the blue on the outer bottom edge.  Add fluffy eyelashes and you practically look exactly like BoA!

Comments
  1. Tracey says:

    AMAZINNNNNNGGG!!!!!!!

    no, but really.
    it looks so kickass :D

  2. Soo says:

    your version looks lovely~

    also, I LOVE using tape! I don’t know which post of yours it was that made me all “WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT?!” but I like using masking tape. it makes me feel so pro after I take it off and my makeup isn’t all over the place. and I’ve found it is super helpful when I do my nails too because I get super OCD about imperfections.

    • mytigerlily says:

      Tape is like. The one thing people forget to use that makes all the difference in makeup. I have a roll of tape on my vanity and I use it more than the one on my hw desk, ahah

  3. Allison says:

    LOVE this look on you and you replicated it beautifully<33333

  4. I really like that last picture because the you in the mirror doesn’t even know I’m watching her!! hahahahha

    I LOVE how you did the pop up blue in this look, it’s different from the liner pop I usually see, and it looks really good against the neutrals. I like your fluffy lashes too xD

  5. Shari says:

    This is just so pretty! Wow…

  6. Phyllis says:

    Wow you got the look spot on! Love this!

Leave a Reply

