Tutorial: Galaxy Inspired

Posted: November 18, 2011 in Dramatic, Tutorials

I know that space inspired textures have been pretty popular these days, so I found a little time to do some galaxy inspired makeup.  Hopefully this post can serve as some good inspiration for those of you who have to do space themed dress ups for dances, etc.  or those of you who have way too much time on your hands and just want to have a little fun.  I wanted this look to be dramatic and yet still relatively loose – I think a lot of times “dramatic” looks end up looking a lot like masks, and I wanted to show that it doesn’t have to be like that.  Although the eyelid makeup should be symmetrical, feel free to allow both of the sides to develop more organically!  Doing this will only add to the look.

I started by applying various cream bases using my fingers and a dabbing motion.  This just gives me a general feel for where the highlights and shadows are going to land.  After, I began with the matte shadows and a fluffy blending brush to lay down a foundation of blues, pinks, and purples.  I then filled in the highlights with bright frosty shadows.  To finish I embellished the entire surface with dots of silver.  Using a champagne colored liquid eyeliner I added more tiny dots.  A lot of the shadows I used for the base come from Sugarpill and most of the toppers are loose eyeshadows from Concrete Minerals that I’m trying out.  Stay tuned for a review!

Revlon Illuminance Cream Shadow
NYX Jumbo Eye Pencils
Sugarpill Pressed Shadows (Afterparty, Dollipop)
Sugarpill Loose Eyeshadow (Magentric, Tiara, Royal Sugar)
Concrete Minerals Loose Shadow (White Rabbit, Napalm, Rocked, Jezebel)

This is my brother.

Be sure to re-emphasize your brows.

Closeups scare me. I look so serious! When I smiled, the triangle got too funkified though ;)

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    TOMI YOU ARE TALENTED AS F*CK.

  2. Anonymous says:

    AMAZING TOMI! GREAT WORK!

  3. THIS IS SO GOOD.
    but you knew I think that already ;D

  4. This is holy-wigeon-level amazing.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Badass! Can’t wait to see what you come up with next. :D

  6. […] P.S. I used CM in my Galaxy Look! […]

Leave a Reply

